//
you're reading...
linkedin, social media

Personalize your geography on LinkedIn

By default, our LinkedIn profile geography is our geographic region, not the specific city we live. LinkedIn divides all global areas into geographic regions. Using geographic regions gives members a better idea of where we’re located, especially when we are not familiar with the area. You can choose a geographic region or select a city by zip code.

When I first created my LinkedIn profile, my geography was “Greater New York City Area” which is much larger than my personal geography. My home is equidistant from Philadelphia, PA and New York, NY. A more appropriate geography for me is the well-known village of Princeton, NJ, just four miles north of my home in Lawrenceville, NJ.

LinkedIn_profileHowever, my city wasn’t a simple selection. When I entered my Lawrenceville zip code in my LinkedIn profile, the city of Trenton, NJ was the geography selection, because Trenton and Lawrenceville share the same zip code. Because I would rather see Princeton on my profile, I entered the Princeton zip code to get the desired result.

Edit your profile and select the geography that is appropriate for your online identity. If your city name does not accurately appear as an option in the Location Name field, try entering a different zip code from a nearby city. The city name displays only on your full profile. The regional name displays when your profile appears in search results.

About barriebyron

Innovative, DITA-using information developer specializing in presenting complex ideas in ways that are clear and concise. Persistent optimist, intrepid adventurer, mentor. Builder of relationships, connecting friends and peers to people they want to know. Toastmaster, social duct tape, and generator of goodwill. Follow me on twitter @barriebyron

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

