//
you're reading...
communication, jobs, Speaking, STC, tech comm

Do you know the Career Sherpa?

I am proud to know and support the Career Sherpa. I first met Hannah Morgan when I attended her “Using Social Media to Enhance Your Career” presentation at the 2011 Spectrum conference in Rochester, NY. The annual Spectrum conference is sponsored by the outstanding Rochester Chapter of the Society for Technical Communication (STC).

My online reputation helped me secure my last two full time jobs. I was hired on the phone for my last four positions. My digital footprint helped me traverse the pitfalls and challenges of my job seeking journey.

If you are a job seeker, get to know the career sherpa. Read Hannah’s blog, including the post What it takes to start a job search. Take the time to carefully review your resume and make required adjustments to ensure that your document is consistent, error-free, and results-oriented. Use an email address that is “clearly and professionally you.

Hannah was a keynote speaker at the 2013 Mid-Atlantic Technical Communication Conference and Workshop. Our conference theme “Sharpening Your Personal Brand” resonated strongly with me. My presentation partner Ann Grove and I copresented “10 Habits to Advance Your Career and Change Your Life.”

Update September 2014: Hannah was included in the Top 150 Career and Leadership Blogs For Your Success in 2014. Career Rocketeer compiled a list of the top 150 career and leadership blogs using the following selection criteria:

  1. Content Quality
  2. Recency of Posts
  3. Frequency of Posts
  4. Overall Site Experience
About barriebyron

Innovative, DITA-using information developer specializing in presenting complex ideas in ways that are clear and concise. Persistent optimist, intrepid adventurer, mentor. Builder of relationships, connecting friends and peers to people they want to know. Toastmaster, social duct tape, and generator of goodwill. Follow me on twitter @barriebyron

Discussion

One thought on “Do you know the Career Sherpa?

  1. Barrie,
    I’m blushing! Thanks so much! Meeting you has been a true highlight for me. Your exuberance for life and people is amazing- online AND inperson!

    Ben and I are looking forward to the event in March and hope to meet many new friends!

    Posted by Hannah Morgan (@careersherpa) | January 25, 2013, 4:30 pm

Leave a Reply

